NTC Weiz GmbH, Österreich ©:  Henrike Rabe (2013)
zoom_in
NTC Weiz GmbH, Österreich ©: Henrike Rabe (2013)
Project ((completed))
Architectures of Knowledge

Designing Laboratories for an Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences

Research topic

Laboratory design is characterized by its extreme functionality. The results produced in laboratories must be reproducible and verifiable in different locations under the same circumstances. That is to say, modern laboratory design is subject to strict global norms and standards. Nonetheless, no single laboratory is exactly like another. Even sites that pursue the same research goals vary in their configurations and equipment.

First, this project will focus on the redesign of a 200 qm laboratory for surface and interface physics. This laboratory will house the working group of N. Koch as it studies supramolecular systems. Second, the project will organize the interdisciplinary architectural planning of a 1.000 qm core facility at the IRIS Adlershof (director: J. Rabe). Initially, the rooms of the Koch group will be fitted only with standard connections for electricity, water, and gas. Over the next several years we will obtain and install the necessary equipment and devices that meet the specific needs of the laboratory. Moreover, for the core facility, it will be possible to develop an interdisciplinary architectural design process.

Objectives

The investigation will proceed from the assumption that the material design of the experimental configuration and its environment is an important precondition for efficient and innovative research. The goal of the project is to improve the quality of this laboratory design, and thus of the experiment itself, as well as to investigate which parts of the experimental setup are superfluous and which are necessary. In addition, the communicative behavior of the researchers in different work environments will be observed to investigate how this behavior influences the emergence of new physical models.

Execution

We will explore laboratory design via a comparative analysis of the design, genealogy, and operation of similar laboratories in different locations (e.g., the existing laboratories of the research group of N. Koch and J. Rabe, BESSY II in Berlin, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, Princeton University, the University of Texas at Austin, the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, the Universidad de Buenos Aires, Chiba University in Japan, and the National University of Singapore). It is not theory alone that shows the experimenter the way; unexpected experimental results also lead to the development of new theories. The communicative conventions made possible by laboratory design affect whether an existing theory can be developed further or must be discarded.

 

Particular emphasis will therefore be placed on the investigation and improvement of this communicative structure, as well as of the graphic representation of theoretical models in the new laboratory. At the same time, we will determine which aspects of knowledge production are anchored locally, which are globally communicable, and to what extent they are influenced by specific social characteristics.

The project will comprise the following steps:

  1. A site inspection of the current laboratory and the new rooms by the responsible architects and all group members.
  2. First analysis of needs.
  3. First design of the space based on the analysis of needs.
  4. Comparative research trips to laboratories in Germany and abroad.
  5. Evaluation of results.
  6. Application of new concepts to the final design of the space.
  7. Documentation of the process.

Securing results

The project relies on the collaboration between art historians, experimental physicists, historians of science, architects, and interior designers. The result will be the innovative design of experimental spaces in the IRIS Adlershof in Berlin-Adlershof, which will be documented in a published volume. The new experimental spaces themselves will be accessible to interested experts and the general public at regular intervals.




investigator-rabe.jpg
Interdisciplinary Laboratory Executive Board Principal Investigators
Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik Professorships
arrow_forward
Helmut Staubach
Interdisciplinary Laboratory Alumni
arrow_forward

NTC Weiz GmbH, Österreich ©:  Henrike Rabe (2013)
zoom_in
NTC Weiz GmbH, Österreich ©: Henrike Rabe (2013)
Projekt (abgeschlossen)
Architekturen des Wissens

Gestaltung von Laboren für ein Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences

Forschungsthema

Laborgestaltung zeichnet sich durch höchste Funktionalität aus. Die in Laboren produzierten Resultate müssen an anderer Stelle unter gleichen Umständen reproduzierbar und damit überprüfbar sein. D.h. moderne Laborgestaltung unterliegt strengen globalen Normierungen und Standardisierungen. Dennoch gleicht kein Labor dem anderem. Selbst an Orten, die das gleiche Forschungsziel verfolgen, variieren die Anordnungen und Ausstattungen.

Im Zentrum dieses Projektes steht erstens die Neugestaltung eines 200 qm großen Labors für Oberflächen- und Grenzflächen-Physik zur Erforschung supramolekularer Systeme für die Arbeitsgruppe von N. Koch und zweitens die architektonische Planung einer 1.000 qm großen Core Facility im IRIS Adlershof (Leiter: J. Rabe). Für die Räume, die zunächst nur mit Standardanschlüssen für Elektrizität, Wasser und Gase ausgestattet sind, werden in den nächsten Jahren die notwendigen Apparaturen und eigens für die spezifischen Anforderungen entwickelte Geräte installiert. Der Bau der Core Facility soll als interdisziplinäres Gestaltungsprojekt geplant werden.

Zielsetzung

Ausgangspunkt der Untersuchung ist die Annahme, dass die materielle Gestaltung der Experimentalanordnung und ihrer Umgebung wesentliche Voraussetzung für eine effiziente und innovative Forschung ist. Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Qualität der Laborgestaltung und damit des Experiments zu verbessern, aber auch zu untersuchen, welche Anteile der Experimentanordnung zufällig und welche notwendig sind. Außerdem soll das Kommunikationsverhalten der Forscher_innen in verschiedenen Arbeitsumgebungen beobachtet und auf seinen Einfluss auf das Entstehen neuer physikalischer Modelle hin untersucht werden.

Durchführung

Laborgestaltung soll anhand einer vergleichenden Analyse der Gestaltung, Genealogie und Arbeitsweise ähnlich operierender Labors an unterschiedlichen Orten (z.B. bestehende Labore der Forschergruppe von N. Koch und J. Rabe, BESSY II in Berlin, der ETH Zürich, der Princeton University und der University of Texas at Austin, der UNAM in Mexico, der UBA in Buenos Aires, der Universität Chiba in Japan und der National University of Singapur) untersucht werden. Nicht allein Theorie weist dem Experimentator den Weg, sondern unerwartete Ergebnisse von Experimenten führen zur Entwicklung neuer Theorien. So spielen Kommunikationsgewohnheiten, die durch die Laborgestaltung möglich werden, eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entscheidung, ob eine bestehende Theorie weiterentwickelt oder verworfen wird.

Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf die Untersuchung und Verbesserung dieser Kommunikationsstruktur und der graphischen Repräsentation von theoretischen Modellen in dem neu einzurichtenden Labor gerichtet sein. Zugleich soll gefragt werden, welche Aspekte der Wissensproduktion lokal verankert, welche global kommunizierbar sind, und welchen Einfluss gesellschaftliche Besonderheiten ausüben.

Das Projekt unternimmt folgende Arbeitsschritte:

  1. Begehung des aktuellen Labors und der neuen Räumlichkeiten mit den dafür verantwortlichen Architekt_innen und allen Gruppenmitarbeiter_innen.
  2. Erste Bedarfsanalyse.
  3. Erster daraus resultierender Raumentwurf.
  4. Vergleichende Forschungsreisen zu Laboren im In- und Ausland.
  5. Auswertung der Ergebnisse.
  6. Umsetzungen der daraus gewonnenen Anregungen in den endgültigen Raumentwurf.
  7. Dokumentation des Prozesses.

Ergebnissicherung

Das Ergebnis dieser Zusammenarbeit von Kunsthistoriker_innen und Experimentalphysiker_innen sowie Wissenschaftshistoriker_innen, Architekt_innen und Raumgestalter_innen soll die wegweisende Gestaltung von Experimentierräumen im IRIS Adlershof in Berlin-Adlershof sein und in einer Publikation dokumentiert werden. Die neuen Experimentierräume werden interessierten Expert_innen und der Öffentlichkeit in regelmäßigen Abständen zugänglich sein.




investigator-rabe.jpg
Interdisziplinäres Labor Vorstand Principal Investigators
Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik Professuren
arrow_forward
Helmut Staubach
Interdisziplinäres Labor Alumni
arrow_forward