Repliken Wissen_German U15
Repliken Wissen_German U15
"Replica Maker Space" of the exhibition at Tieranatomisches Theater, Photo: David Ausserhofer, German U15
Event (completed)
Curators' Guided Tours: REPLICA KNOWLEDGE

10.03.2018 - 15:00 h to
10.03.2018 - 17:00 h
Tieranatomisches Theater
Philippstr. 12/13, Campus Nord, Haus 3, 10115 B...

Curator's guided tours through the special exhibition REPLICA KNOWLEDGE. An Archaeology of the Multiple Past

March 10, 2018, 15:00 till 15:45 (English) & 16:00 till 16:45 (German)

Curators’ guided tours through the exhibition Replica Knowledge will give deep insights into the history of popular replicas, their (re-)construction, spreading and commercialization –  stories of truth and myth.

Why do Snake Goddesses reside in Berlin, Cambridge, Heidelberg and Paris? How did the throne of King Minos appear in the International Criminal Court in The Hague? And when was Nestor’s cup last seen on the big screen?

Replica Knowledge presents copies of archaeological objects from the Greek Bronze Age and follows the biographies of several replicas. These biographies lead to the collections of museums and universities, justice palaces, luxury steam­ers, action films and contemporary art. The manifold interpretations and uses of these replicas show that history is not fixed but continually being constructed.

The exhibition conveys these stories of truth and myth and their motivations in artistic and museum formats of presen­tation. In thematic rooms and a cinema, new replica knowledge is displayed about the best known objects from Minoan and Mycenaean archaeology. For example, the history of the ‘Throne of Minos’ replica installed in the International Court of Justice in 1913 stands between ancient myths and political agendas. Illustrator Jan Stöwe has designed this as a large format installation especially for the exhi­bition. Furthermore, in the Maker Space, the production of replicas in different processes and materials is accessible — from plaster cast to 3D printing.

Visitors are therefore invited to go on a journey in which history and archaeology have many interpretations.

Gefördert durch

Kulturstiftung des Bundes

„Fellowship Internationales Museum“ der Kulturstiftung des Bundes


Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Bild-Kunst - Förderer

VG Bild-Kunst

Repliken Wissen_German U15
zoom_in
Repliken Wissen_German U15
"Replica Maker Space" der Ausstellung im Tieranatomischen Theater, Foto: David Ausserhofer, German U15
Event (abgeschlossen)
Tieranatomisches Theater
Kuratorenführungen: REPLIKEN WISSEN

10.03.2018 - 15:00 Uhr bis
10.03.2018 - 17:00 Uhr
Ort
Tieranatomisches Theater
Philippstr. 12/13, Campus Nord, Haus 3, 10115 B...

Kurator_innenführungen durch die Sonderausstellung REPLIKEN WISSEN. Eine Archäologie vervielfältigter Vergangenheit

10. März 2018, 15:00 bis 15:45 Uhr (Englisch) & 16:00 bis 16:45 Uhr (Deutsch)


Die Kurator_innen geben im Rundgang durch die Ausstellung Repliken Wissen tiefe Einblicke in die Objektgeschichten populärer Repliken, ihre (Re-)Konstruktion, Verbreitung und Kommerzialisierung –  Geschichten zwischen Wahrheit und Mythos.


Warum residieren Schlangengöttinnen in Berlin, Cambridge, Heidelberg und Paris? Wie kommt der Thron von König Minos an den Internationalen Strafgerichtshof in Den Haag? Und wann wurde der Nestorbecher zuletzt auf der Kinoleinwand gesehen?

Repliken Wissen präsentiert Kopien von Objekten der griechischen Bronzezeit und folgt den Spuren dieser Repliken. Sie führen in die Sammlungen von Museen und Universitäten, in Justiz-Paläste, Luxusdampfer, Actionfilme und in die zeitgenössische Kunst. Ihre mannigfaltige Deutung und Verwendung zeigen, dass Geschichte fortlaufend konstruiert wird.

Die Ausstellung vermittelt diese Geschichten und ihre Beweggründe in künstlerischen und musealen Präsentationsformen. In thematischen Räumen und einem Kino findet sich neues Replikenwissen zu den bekanntesten Objekten aus der minoisch-mykenischen Archäologie. Die Geschichte der Thronreplik, die am Internationalen Strafgerichtshof im Jahre 1913 installiert wurde, steht beispielhaft zwischen alten Mythen und politischen Winkelzügen. Der Illustrator Jan Stöwe hat sie als Rauminstallation für die Ausstellung nachgezeichnet. Im Maker Space wird die Herstellung von Repliken in Verfahren und Material greifbar – vom Gipsabguss bis zum 3D-Druck.

Besucher_innen können sich so auf eine Reise begeben, in der die Geschichte als Kaleidoskop erscheint.


Gefördert durch

Kulturstiftung des Bundes

„Fellowship Internationales Museum“ der Kulturstiftung des Bundes

BWG/DFG Logo

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Bild-Kunst - Förderer

VG Bild-Kunst




arrow_forward