"A Pacifist Workshop" von Jan Stöwe, Tieranatomisches Theater, © Felix Sattler, HU Berlin
zoom_in
"A Pacifist Workshop" von Jan Stöwe, Tieranatomisches Theater, © Felix Sattler, HU Berlin
"A Pacifist Workshop" by Jan Stöwe, Tieranatomisches Theater, © Felix Sattler, HU Berlin
Location
Tieranatomisches Theater
Philippstr. 12/13, Campus Nord, Haus 3, 10115 B...

Public drawing, February 27 – March 1, 2018, 2 till 6 p.m.

Discussion, March 2, 2018, 3 till 6 p.m.


The illustrator Jan Stöwe will expand his project A Pacifist Workshop live at Tieranatomisches Theater. The large-format installation weaves well-krnown motifs and protagonists into a large tableau of European’s cultural history. The central topic is a replica of the throne of King Minos of Knossos, which got to the International Court of Justice in The Hague in 1913, as a gift from the Greek government. The illustration traces the political, mythological and cultural implications of its significance in modern times and today.

The story of the throne of Minos reveals the political »agency« of archaeological objects in modern times. This replica symbolizes the area of tension in a forming Europe, national military interests on one hand and the emerging peace movement on the other.
 A copy of the Throne of Minos is in the Peace Palace in The Hague, the seat of the International Court of Justice since 1945. It was given to the Carnegie Foundation by the Greek government in 1913, as part of the Gifts of the Nations for the Peace Palace - »in remembrance of King Minos as a just judge«, as it is still said today. According to the myth Minos was the judge of the underworld and the founder of natural law theory after the end of his life as the ruler of Crete. The connection of this mythological narrative with the founding phase of the International Court of Justice creates a bridge between the ancient understanding of law and the modern age.

The donation also emphasized the historical and cultural identity of Greece and Crete. Crete was united with Greece in 1913 by the Treaty of London. By installing the myth of Minos at the Peace Palace, Greece – cultural cradle of Europe – consolidated its political participation. The throne replica from Crete could have been a symbol of a peaceful past by reminding about the supposedly matriarchal and peaceful society of the Minoan civilization.

The interdisciplinary curatorial team of the exhibition Replica Knowledge. An Archeology of the Multiple Past (Felix Sattler, Dr. Anna Simandiraki-Grimshaw, Konrad Angermüller) has explored the history of the throne copy. Jan Stöwe has extended this knowledge with his own research to illustrate it in the installation A Pacifist Workshop. In various techniques and materials, he weaves well-known motifs and protagonists into a large tableau of European’s cultural history. Motifs from the Cretan Bronze Age such as the Minotaur, Icarus or the Snake Goddess meet political players such as Bertha von Suttner or Eleftherios Venizelos, scientists such as Arthur Evans as well as modern tourists.

From the 27th of February till the 1st of March, from 2 till 6 p.m., Jan Stöwe will be adding new elements to his installation in a drawing laboratory, live, and open to talk about his work with interested visitors. On the 2nd of March, from 3 till 6 p.m., Jan Stöwe and the curator Felix Sattler will discuss about the potentials of artistic research in museums.


Gefördert durch

Bild-Kunst - Förderer

Bild-Kunst




Exhibition (completed)
Tieranatomisches Theater
REPLICA KNOWLEDGE – An Archaeology of the Multiple Past

16.09.2017 - 14:00 h to
31.03.2018 - 18:00 h
Location
Tieranatomisches Theater
Philippstr. 12/13, Campus Nord, Haus 3, 10115 B...
arrow_forward

"A Pacifist Workshop" von Jan Stöwe, Tieranatomisches Theater, © Felix Sattler, HU Berlin
zoom_in
"A Pacifist Workshop" von Jan Stöwe, Tieranatomisches Theater, © Felix Sattler, HU Berlin
A Pacifist Workshop von Jan Stöwe, Tieranatomisches Theater, © Felix Sattler, HU Berlin
Ort
Tieranatomisches Theater
Philippstr. 12/13, Campus Nord, Haus 3, 10115 B...

Public Drawing, 27. Februar – 1. März 2018, 14 bis 18 Uhr

Werkstattgespräch, 2. März 2018, 15 bis 18 Uhr


Der Illustrator Jan Stöwe wird sein Projekt A Pacifist Workshop live vor Publikum erweitern. Die großformatige Installation verwebt bekannte Motive und Protagonist_innen zu einem großen Tableau europäischer Kulturgeschichte. Ausgangspunkt ist die Replik des Throns von König Minos aus Knossos, die 1913 als Geschenk der griechischen Regierung an den Internationalen Strafgerichtshof in Den Haag kam. Jan Stöwes Illustrationen spüren politische Winkelzüge und mythologische sowie kulturelle Einfüsse dieser Phase der Geschichte auf und setzen sie in Kontext zu modernen Verwertungsmechanismen.

Die Geschichte des Throns von Minos offenbart die politische »Agency« archäologischer Objekte in der Moderne. Diese Replik steht symbolisch für das Spannungsfeld zwischen nationalen militärischen Interessen und der aufkommenden Friedensbewegung eines sich formierenden Europas. Eine Kopie des Throns von Minos steht im Friedenspalast in Den Haag, seit 1945 Sitz des Internationalen Gerichtshofs. Sie wurde 1913 von der griechischen Regierung an die Carnegie Stiftung übergeben, als Teil der Geschenke der Nationen für den Friedenspalast – »in Erinnerung an König Minos als gerechten Richter«, wie es bis heute heißt. Minos wurde dem Mythos zufolge nach dem Ende seines Lebens als Herrscher von Kreta zum Richter der Unterwelt und zum Begründer der Naturrechtstheorie. Die Verbindung dieser mythologischen Erzählung mit der Gründungsphase des Internationalen Schiedsgerichtshofs schafft eine Brücke zwischen dem antiken Rechtsverständnis und der Moderne.
 Die Schenkung betonte aber auch die historische und kulturelle Identität von Griechenland und Kreta. Kreta wurde erst 1913 durch den Vertrag von London mit Griechenland vereinigt. Indem der Mythos von Minos am Friedenspalast installiert wurde, festigte Griechenland – kulturelle Wiege Europas – seine politische Teilhabe. Die Thron-Replik von Kreta könnte als Erinnerung an die vermeintlich matriarchale und friedliche Gesellschaft der minoischen Hochkultur als Symbol einer friedlichen Vergangenheit gegolten haben.

Das interdisziplinär arbeitende Kuratorenteam der Ausstellung Repliken Wissen. Eine Archäologie vervielfältigter Vergangenheit (Felix Sattler, Dr. Anna Simandiraki-Grimshaw, Konrad Angermüller) hat die Geschichte der Thronkopie erforscht. Jan Stöwe hat diese Erkenntnisse um seine eigenen Recherchen erweitert, um sie in der Rauminstallation A Pacifist Workshop zu illustrieren. In verschiedenen Techniken und Materialien verwebt er bekannte Motive und Protagonist_innen zu einem großen Tableau europäischer Kulturgeschichte. Bekannte Motive aus der Kretischen Bronzezeit wie der Minotaurus, Ikarus oder die Schlangengöttin treffen auf politische Akteure wie Bertha von Suttner oder Eleftherios Venizelos, auf Wissenschaftler wie Arthur Evans und auf Touristen von heute.

Vom 27. Februar bis 1. März wird Jan Stöwe seine Installation in einem jeweils von 14 bis 18 Uhr öffentlich zugänglichen Zeichenlabor um neue Elemente erweitern und dabei interessierten Besucher_innen Auskunft über seine Arbeit geben. Am 2. März, von 15 bis 18 Uhr, findet zwischen Jan Stöwe und dem Kurator Felix Sattler ein öffentliches Gespräch über die Perspektiven künstlerischer Forschung im Museum statt.


Gefördert durch

Bild-Kunst - Förderer

Bild-Kunst




Ausstellung
REPLIKEN WISSEN – Eine Archäologie vervielfältigter Vergangenheit

16.09.2017 - 14:00 Uhr bis
31.03.2018 - 18:00 Uhr
Ort
Tieranatomisches Theater
Philippstr. 12/13, Campus Nord, Haus 3, 10115 B...
arrow_forward