About us (HZK)

The Hermann von Helmholtz Centre for Cultural Techniques (HZK) is a central institute of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU). Its interdisciplinary orientation brings together project-based research, and it is dedicated to investigating the history and design of cultural techniques as cultural practices for creating, transferring and processing knowledge.

The HZK develops formats for using infrastructure in exhibitions, collections and interdisciplinary research and teaching. It sees scientific collections, architectures of knowledge and forms of creativity as cultural techniques applied in interdisciplinary knowledge, which it seeks to reflect and open up to transdisciplinary collaborations.

Research priority areas

The priority areas for interdisciplinary research and teaching at the HZK cover questions in the following fields: »Image & Action«, »Form Processes & Modelling«, »Active Matter«, »Architectures of Knowledge« and »Collecting & Exhibiting«. 

Humboldt Laboratory

A new cultural centre is being created in the historic heart of Berlin, a centre dedicated to international exchanges of knowledge and dialogues with the cultures of the world: the Humboldt Forum in the rebuilt Berlin Palace. Here the HZK is opening up a venue for the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin where the latest perspectives in science and research on pressing social questions can be presented and discussed: the Humboldt Laboratory.

The Tieranatomisches Theater

The HZK is developing the historical venue of the Tieranatomisches Theater (TA T) as a public cultural institution with the character of a laboratory. Its central role is to experimentally develop exhibition and event formats. It aims to put innovative exhibition-making practices to the test and to enable diverse forms of critical access to material knowledge cultures and scientific collections. To this end, the natural sciences and the humanities enter into an exchange with the creative/design disciplines.

Expertise in exhibition-making is consolidated, shared and made public in the TA T. This includes interdisciplinary, intercultural and gender-conscious methods and positions.

The projects that emerge as a result open up opportunities for museum work and provide research and teaching with points of contact with the public.

The Tieranatomisches Theater provides the Humboldt-Universität collections with an object laboratory for applied collections research.


The Humboldt-Universität has more than 40 collections that have grown over the course of its history and are used as research and teaching infrastructures. Their management is decentralised and led by the respective institutes. The HZK coordinates the development of the collections and works on pan-collection indexing projects and courses as well as research and exhibition projects. It is especially interested in the development of material cultures in the sciences, the associated cultures of memory and identity politics, and the relationship between material and digital knowledge architectures.

The Helmholtz Lectures

The »Helmholtz Lectures« series at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin follows the model provided by Hermann von Helmholtz as a scientist and a communicator of science. Two or three lectures are given per semester by outstanding figures on topics of cross-disciplinary relevance.

Page 1 of 1.

Über uns (HZK)

Das Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik (HZK) ist ein Zentralinstitut der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU). In seiner interdisziplinären Ausrichtung verbindet es projektbezogene Forschung und widmet sich der Geschichte und Gestaltung von Kulturtechniken im Sinne kultureller Praktiken für die Erzeugung, Übertragung und Verarbeitung von Wissen.

Das HZK entwickelt Formate zur Nutzung von Infrastrukturen für Ausstellungen, Sammlungen und interdisziplinärer Forschung und Lehre. Es begreift wissenschaftliche Sammlungen, Wissensarchitekturen und Gestaltungsformen als Kulturtechniken des interdisziplinären Wissens, die es reflektiert und für eine fächerübergreifende Zusammenarbeit erschließt.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Schwerpunkte für interdisziplinäre Forschung und Lehre am HZK umfassen Fragestellungen zu »Bild & Handlung«, »Formprozess & Modellierung«, »Active Matter«, »Architekturen des Wissens« und »Sammeln & Ausstellen«. 

Humboldt-Labor

In der historischen Mitte Berlins entsteht ein neues kulturelles Zentrum, das sich dem internationalen Austausch von Wissen und dem Dialog der Kulturen der Welt verpflichtet: Das Humboldt Forum im wieder errichteten Berliner Schloss. Das HZK eröffnet für die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin hier einen Raum, in dem neueste Perspektiven der Wissenschaft auf drängende Fragen der Gesellschaft vorgestellt und diskutiert werden: das Humboldt-Labor.

Tieranatomisches Theater

Das HZK entwickelt den historischen Raum des Tieranatomischen Theaters (TA T) als öffentliche Kultureinrichtung mit Laborcharakter weiter. Kernaufgabe ist die experimentelle Entwicklung von Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsformaten. Ziele sind die Erprobung innovativer Praktiken des Ausstellungsmachens und die Ermöglichung von vielgestaltigen und kritischen Zugängen zu materiellen Wissenskulturen und wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen. Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften treten dafür in einen Austausch mit den künstlerisch-gestalterischen Disziplinen.

Am TA T werden Kompetenzen für das Ausstellungsmachen zusammengeführt, geteilt und öffentlich vermittelt. Darunter fallen interdisziplinäre wie auch interkulturelle und genderbewusste Methoden und Positionen.

Die daraus entstehenden Projekte eröffnen Perspektiven für die Museumsarbeit und bieten Forschung und Lehre Schnittstellen zur Öffentlichkeit.

Das Tieranatomische Theater bietet Sammlungen der Humboldt-Universität ein Objektlabor für die angewandte Sammlungsforschung.

Sammlungen

An der Humboldt-Universität existieren über 40 historisch gewachsene Sammlungen, die in den jeweiligen Instituten dezentral betreut und als Forschungs- und Lehrinfrastrukturen genutzt werden. Das HZK koordiniert die Sammlungsentwicklung und führt sammlungsübergreifende Erschließungsprojekte, Lehrveranstaltungen, Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekte durch. Das Interesse gilt dabei insbesondere der Entwicklung der materiellen Kulturen der Wissenschaften, den damit verbundenen Erinnerungskulturen und Identitätspolitiken sowie dem Verhältnis von materiellen und digitalen Wissensarchitekturen.

Helmholtz-Vorlesung

An dem Vorbild Hermann von Helmholtz als Wissenschaftler und als Vermittler von Wissenschaft orientiert sich die Reihe »Helmholtz-Vorlesungen« an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In zwei bis drei Vorträgen pro Semester sprechen herausragende Persönlichkeiten zu Themen von übergreifender Bedeutung.

arrow_forward
arrow_forward
arrow_forward
Page 1 of 1.